Q: What is the history of the ZEALOTS?

Around 1990, a few homebrewers including the eventual owners of Live Oak Brewing, Brian Peters and Chip McElroy, began meeting at the Dog and Duck Pub on Guadalupe.  More brewers joined  including some from Celis Brewery.  We began meeting at the Gingerman around 1994 and the group grew steadily.  We would often head to Waterloo Brewing, the Bitter End and Lovejoys after meetings for a nightcap.  Steve Williams was the chief organizer while brewing at Celis, then Marc Martin moved to town from Portland and organized the club to enter competitions.  Corey Martin took over in 2002 and the club has gone on to win the Lone Star Circuit Trophy in 2010, 2011, 2013 & 2014.  ZEALOTS member Mark Schoppe won the Ninkasi Award at the National Homebrew Conference in 2012 & 2015, plus he won the Lone Star Circuit homebrewer of the year in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.  The club finished 3rd overall in points at the National Homebrew Conference in 2012 (finishing behind extremely large clubs).  Corey Martin won the Sam Adams Longshot contest in 2010.  Several members have become professional brewers including Dan Wheeler at Solid Rock, Jeffrey Stuffings at Jester King, Jon Airheart at Rogness, Dan Kernek at Bindlestick, Robert Cheney at Ironsight, Aaron Smith at Infamous, and many more! 

Special thanks goes out to Austin Homebrew Supply for supplying us with fresh, quality ingredients over the years!  And now to SoCo Homebrew as well!